Officials Admit Huge Mistake In MSU Loss [Video]
Michigan State coach Mark D'Antonio admitted his special teams screwed up by having 12 men on the field for a last second field goal attempt, but it turns out he wasn't the only who screwed up.
The Pac-12 Conference has admitted their officiating crew working the MSU game Saturday in East Lansing missed a flagrant foul at the end of the game, which would have given the Spartans another chance to tie it.
If you missed the wild ending to Saturday's game, here's what went down.
After giving up a touchdown in the waning minutes to ASU to fall behind 10-7, the Spartans rallied and got into position for a tying field goal.
Matt Coghlin appeared to have kicked the tying field goal, when a flag was thrown. The Spartans were then penalized five yards for having too many men on the field.
Coghlin tried again to tie the game, but missed wide to the left, giving ASU the win.
However, it was immediately pointed out by several commentators that one of the ASU players had taken a running start and jumped over the line, which is against the rules, and ASU should have been assessed a fifteen yard penalty.
The Pac-12 now agrees with that assessment, issuing this statement late Sunday:
"An Arizona State defensive player took a running start and leapt over the kicking team's line in an attempt to block the kick," the Pac-12 said in a statement. "In the process, he leapt into the frame of the body of an opponent. The penalty would have been 15 yards from the previous spot and an automatic first down. In this case, it would have been administered as half the distance to the goal and Michigan State would have been provided one untimed down."
Oopsie! As sorry as they are, they cannot reverse the game ending, which will stand as a loss for MSU. And that sucks. Big Time.