Veteran Michigan State University Men's Basketball Coach Tom Izzo has been named as the winner of this year's Dean Smith Award.

The award is named after the legendary University of North Carolina head basketball coach, who passed away last year at the age of 83.

The honor is voted on by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.  Former Georgetown head coach John Thompson was the inaugural winner last year.