The American Athletic Conference has voted to admit Wichita State University to the league starting with the 2017-18 school year, according to ESPN.

The Shockers will leave the Missouri Valley Conference to join the American.  The men's basketball program has reached national prominence in recent years under head coach Gregg Marshall (pictured).  The program reached the Final Four in 2013, where they lost to eventual national champion Louisville in the semifinals.

This move is expected to give the basketball program even more national respect than it has garnered.

More From The Game 730 WVFN-AM