For the third time in his career Justin Verlander is named Tiger of the year, he received nine of the 22 first-place votes. Verlander previously won the award in 2011 and 2009.

The Cy Young finalist finished this season with a 16-9 record and a 3.04 ERA. Verlander retired 254 batters over 227 2/3 innings and started 34 games which is tied for second.

Ian Kinsler came in second place receiving eight first-place votes and Miguel Cabrera received four first-place votes.

The voting for Tiger of the year is done by the Detroit chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America.