A special, independent six-person group has been announced to direct the investigation into Ohio State football coach Urban Meyer.  The group will be made up of three current members of the board of trustees (Alex Fischer, Janet Porter and Alex Shumate), and three people who are not associated with the university (former Ohio House Speaker Jo Ann Davidson, former acting U.S. Deputy Attorney General Craig Morford and former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of Ohio Carter Stewart).  The group will be working alongside the university's office of compliance and integrity.

"The special working group will direct the work of the investigative team and be available to provide consultation and advice and assist with communication to the full board on the matter," Ohio State said in a statement.

Meyer has been put on administrative leave during this investigation.  Offensive coordinator Ryan Day is acting as head coach.

Wednesday, the school announced it was investigating claims that several people close to Meyer knew of a 2015 allegation of domestic violence against former Ohio State assistant coach Zach Smith, who was fired in July.  His ex-wife, Courtney Smith, is the one made the initial claims.

More From The Game 730 WVFN-AM