The new class of baseball's Hall of Fame were elected on their first ballot appearances, Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, and Frank Thomas. Maddux and Glavine will join their former Atlanta Braves manager, Bobby Cox, at the July 27th induction along with Joe Torre and Tony La Russa. Those three managers were elected last month in a different voting format.

Greg Maddux won four consecutive Cy Young Awards from 1992-1995, and a record 18 Gold Gloves. An eight-time All-Star, he won at least 13 games in 20 straight seasons. Tom Glavine, a 10-time All-Star and two-time Cy Young winner, over 22 seasons. Frank Thomas, "The Big Hurt", played most of his career with the Chicago White Sox. A two-time AL MVP, he hit .301 with 521 home runs and 1,704 RBIs in 19 seasons.

The Hall of Fame will always be scrutinized now, because of all the new eligible players that could have done PEDS. The Hall of Fame voting now will always be controversial. I will get to the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown someday. Next year Lansing's John Smoltz will be on the ballot for the first time.