Members of the DIvision 5 state football champion Lansing Catholic Cougars and the Division 7 state champion Pewamo-Westphalia Pirates have been named All-State by the Michigan Associated Press.

Making the Division 7-8 first-team squad from the Mid-Michigan area include:  P-W sophomore RB Tanner Wirth, P-W senior lineman John Martin, P-W senior linebacker Jacob Pung and P-W senior DB Aaron Bearss.  The Pirates won the D7 title on November 30th 14-0 over Jackson Lumen Christi at Detroit'd Ford Field.  It's their 3rd state title in the last 4 years.

Making the Division 5-6 first-team were: Lansing Catholic senior QB-DB Zach Gillespie (who was named Div. 5-6 Player of the Year), Lansing Catholic sophomore WR Alex Watters, LC senior LB Sam Edwards, and head coach Jim Ahearn was named coach of the year.  Catholic won their first state title since 1985 with their 31-17 triumph over Almont on November 30th at Ford Field.

The Game 730 WVFN-AM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

More From The Game 730 WVFN-AM