Michigan parents know the headache that comes with securing their children in car seats. It can sometimes be one of the most frustrating things a parent has to endure.

However, the real struggle isn't just strapping a child into a car seat; it's the battle of securing the car seat itself in the backseat of your vehicle. Although I haven't had to deal with it for many years, as my son is almost 19 now, I vividly recall the countless struggles with that contraption in the backseat. All the straps, latches, and clamps would put me in a frenzy every time.

Yes, car seats can be a bit frustrating, but there's nothing more important than making sure your child is safe, especially when in the back seat of a moving car.

See Also: When Can a Child Legally Be Left at Home Alone in Michigan?

While you may be ready to do away with that annoying car seat, your child may not be. There are some legalities that parents must abide by when it comes to child car seats.

When Can Children Legally Stop Using Car Seats in Michigan?

According to the state, children who are too heavy or tall for their forward-facing car seat should use a belt-positioning booster seat until the vehicle's lap/shoulder belt fits them properly. This typically happens when the child reaches a height of 4’9” at the age of 8–12 years old.

At What Age Can Children Ride in the Front Seat?

Children should ride in the back seat of the vehicle until they reach 13 years old. The force of an airbag may be too intense for children under the age of 13.

Check Out 8 of Michigan's Weirdest Laws

Yes, these laws are actually on the books in Michigan, make sure you don't break them.

Gallery Credit: Laura Hardy

6 Weird Laws Still on the Books in Michigan

Even though a lot of these laws are very old and not really enforced, they still exist. Check out some of the weirdest laws still on the books in Michigan.

Gallery Credit: Kristen Matthews

10 Safest Michigan Cities

Gallery Credit: TSM Lab

More From The Game 730 WVFN-AM