In 2022 Michiganders were involved in almost 300,000 car accidents.

Get our free mobile app

Some of those accidents were fatal, while others were simple fender benders.

Auto accident involving two cars on a city street
RobertCrum/ThinkStock
loading...

Law enforcement needs to get involved when you have those major accidents, but what about when you have a smaller accident? do you have to call the police and report the car accident?

Michigan State Police via Facebook
Michigan State Police via Facebook
loading...

Here is what the law in Michigan says.

canva
canva
loading...

Is It Against The Law In Michigan Not To Report A Car Accident?

Michigan law requires drivers to report any vehicle accident that causes more than $1,000 in property damage, results in death or injury or damages an unattended vehicle or other property.

shutter-stock-car-models-accidents
loading...

The driver is typically not required to draft an actual report, but must immediately alert the police that an accident has occurred.

Police car on the street
Getty Images/iStockphoto
loading...

Cities and counties can also have additional crash reporting rules.

Latest Detroit Bankruptcy Hearing Reveals New Plans For Creditors
Getty Images
loading...

For example, Detroit requires you to report an accident whenever a car can no longer be driven in its usual manner.

canva
canva
loading...

So even if the crash is minor but you end up in a ditch and needs to be towed out, you must report it to the Detroit Police Department.

Michigan Has Strong Penalties For Not Reporting Certain Accidents

If the accident is serious, the police must be immediately informed. A hit and run without injuries can result in a suspended license, fine, and misdemeanor conviction.

On the Car Crash Traffic Accident Scene: Rescue Team of Firefighters Pull Female Victim out of Rollover Vehicle, They Use Stretchers Carefully, Hand Her Over to Paramedics who Perform First Aid
Getty Images/iStockphoto
loading...

If you flee the scene and someone is seriously injured or dies, you could receive a felony conviction punishable by 15 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.

Rattankun Thongbun
Rattankun Thongbun
loading...

Mechanics are also held to a high standard when it comes to reporting vehicles that were in an accident.

Major Automakers See U.S. Sales Plunge In December
Getty Images
loading...

When a garage or repair shop receives a vehicle for repair that shows evidence of being involved in an accident, the garage manager is required to immediately report this information to the nearest police station or sheriff's office.

These Are Michigan's Most Dangerous Intersections

If you're driving in Michigan you might want to avoid these intersections. Michigan Auto Law a Michigan-based law firm created the list of Michigan's most dangerous intersections using Police information from 2021 to determine which intersections saw the most crashes.

Gallery Credit: Big Joe Pesh

The 12 Tickets That Do the Most Damage to Your Driving Record in Michigan

According to Michigan.gov, these are the 12 tickets in Michigan that will put the most points on your record.

Gallery Credit: Big Joe Pesh

25 Things Michigan Is Known And Famous For

Michigan is known as the Motor City and is home to Motown. But that just scratches the surface of what the Mitten state is known and famous for.

Gallery Credit: Big Joe Pesh