The National Football Foundation has released its 2016 nominees for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. And, the list of 76 features three prominent legends of Spartan folklore; part of a long list of other candidates from the State of Michigan.

The former Spartans nominated: Kirk Gibson, Morten Andersen, and Lorenzo White. Andersen was a 1981 All-American kicker at MSU. Gibson also was an All-American at receiver in 1978. And, White, was a two-time All-American in 1985 and 1987, when he helped lead to MSU to a 1988 Rose Bowl Championship.

The former Spartans are a part of a long list of names that have Michigan ties. Former Michigan Wolverines Erick Anderson, Jumbo Elliott, and Mark Messner are also nominated, along with former MSU and Detroit Lions Coach Darryl Rogers. Pete Schmidt and Morley Fraser, both former coaches at Albion College are on the list, along with former Hillsdale College and Wayne State Coach Dick Lowry.

Several former Detroit Lions are also nominated, including Lomas Brown, Mark Carrier, and Mike Utley.

See the full list of nominees here compliments of the National Football Foundation.