The Big Ten Conference announced in a release on Thursday morning that starting in the 2018-19 season, that men's basketball will go to a 20-game conference schedule and women's basketball will go to an 18-game conference slate.

The men currently play an 18 games in conference, the women play only 16 league contests.

According to the release, in-state rivalries (like Michigan-Michigan State) will be protected so they play each other twice every year (MSU and U-M play only once this season).

College basketball's regular season begins next month.

More From The Game 730 WVFN-AM